codetoad.com
  ASP Shopping CartForum & BBS
  - all for $20 from CodeToad Plus!

Home || ASP | ASP.Net | C++/C# | DHTML | HTML | Java | Javascript | Perl | VB | XML || CodeToad Plus! || Forums || RAM 
Search Site:
  Checking through SQL database..  Stryker at 05:46 on Thursday, October 28, 2004

Sorry ignore my previous post, I realize after reading it that its essentially useless. Let me be more specific, I have a staff table with variables username and password, and loginstatus, which I set to 1 or 0 depending on whether they're logged in or not. So in the login button procedure I want to put some code to check if the user name and password entered in the textboxes match those in my table. As I am new to this whole thing, I am unsure how to go about doing this (ie moving through from one user to the next through the table to compare with the textboxes in my form).. any help would be appreciated. Thanks, and sorry if this is a real newbie question.

Re: Checking through SQL database..  tgreer at 04:33 on Saturday, October 30, 2004

Well, I replied to your previous post before reading this one telling me to ignore it... oh well. You should read the reply anyway, because it introduces the authentication object.

Again, I don't know what level of detail you are seeking.

Why would you query the entire table, and then loop through the records to see if you have a match? Just query the table with the username and password as parameters and see if you get a result or not.

Do you know how to query a database using ADO.NET in an ASP.NET application?

Thomas D. Greer
www.tgreer.com

Re: Checking through SQL database..  Stryker at 17:21 on Sunday, October 31, 2004