codetoad.com
  ASP Shopping CartForum & BBS
  - all for $20 from CodeToad Plus!

Home || ASP | ASP.Net | C++/C# | DHTML | HTML | Java | Javascript | Perl | VB | XML || CodeToad Plus! || Forums || RAM 
Search Site:
  Perl installation issues (the last post doesn`t seem to open)  Scott S at 18:34 on Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Hello, I am new to perl and fairly clueless with this stuff, and I seem to be having problems getting started. After going through the installation process and trying the "Hello World" program, I got the message "'perl' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file." I tried the first line a couple different ways that I saw suggested, but always had errors. There were a couple oddities I noticed during the installation process.

I have Windows Vista (32 bit - I downloaded ActivePerl many times, but concluded the MSI x86 was "correct") and Perl default saves right in my C drive. I saved the cgi file to "/forum/CUsersScottDesktopDocumentsHelloWorld.html".

When I "Choose Setup Options", only the first 2 options are available, the other 5 such as "Create .pl Script Mapping for Perl" are grayed out. I do not currently have permissions to save files directly into my C drive, so I tried to save Perl in other locations, but with the same results. Since my cmd function defaults to C:/Users/Scott that is where I ultimately decided to save Perl.

I tried several other combinations(I don't remember all of them)and any other suggestions I find involve too much new information for me to accurately digest without my actions bordering randomness and significant frustration.

My last code was
#!/C:/Users/Scott/perl/bin/perl
print "content-type: text/html\n\n";
print "Hello World";

run=>cmd prompt was C:\Users\Scott>perl C:\Users\Scott\Desktop\Documents\HelloWorld.cgi

Please let me know if you have any suggestions that might help me get started.

Thanks

CodeToad Experts

Can't find the answer?