codetoad.com
  ASP Shopping CartForum & BBS
  - all for $20 from CodeToad Plus!

Home || ASP | ASP.Net | C++/C# | DHTML | HTML | Java | Javascript | Perl | VB | XML || CodeToad Plus! || Forums || RAM 
Search Site:
  2 actions from the same form submit buttons - How do I do it?????  czhammond at 20:58 on Wednesday, April 05, 2006

Hi!

I am a newbie to Javascript and am having a few difficulties!

I am trying to run 2 seperate Javascript functions ("hidden" and "verify") from 1 submit button. Both of these functions have worked successfully when run seperately from the submit button - any ideas how I combine the code.....

Code is:

1) This pulls data from a text box in an iframe and puts it into a hidden text box in my main page form.

<script>
function hidden(){
window.document.forms["second"].elements["hiddenmodel"].value = window.frames["pic"].document.forms["frmModel"].elements["model"].value;
}
</script>

2) This runs the hidden function (above) when submit button pressed.

<form method="get" action="asp_add.asp" name="second" onsubmit="hidden()">

3) This validates that data has been input in mandatory fields.

<script language="JavaScript">
function verify(form) {
var errors = "";
var msg = "Your details were not submitted because of the following error(s).\n\n";

if (form.make.value == "" || form.model.value == "") {

errors += " - you must enter selection criteria to proceed." +"\n\n" }

if (errors != "")
{
alert(msg + errors + "Thank you.")
return false
}
else
{
second.action ="asp_add.asp"
return true
}
}
</script>

4) This runs the verify function (above) when the submit button is pressed.

<form method="get" name="second" onsubmit="
this.make.optional = true;
this.model.optional = true;
return verify(this);">

Many thanks in advance for any help...

Cathy

Re: 2 actions from the same form submit buttons - How do I do it?????  Jeff Anderson at 08:26 on Thursday, April 06, 2006

Hi Cathy